Let’s Go back to  Buffalo Bills Football Game History


Buffalo Bills Game History
Buffalo Bills Game History 2017 Getty

Buffalo Bills Team History Of Glory

The Buffalo Bills are a franchise that originally began in 1960 as a member of the AFL and didn’t join the NFL until the merger in 1970. Since their assembling, the Bills have been one of the league’s longest running teams that has much history behind it. Let’s check out Buffalo Bills Game History


Buffalo was owned by Ralph Wilson upon its founding in 1960 until he passed away in 2014. The team was then sold to Terry and Kim Pegula, who have been the co-owners in the last few years. Wilson was one of the founding owners of the NFL.  He was also the oldest owner in the league prior to his death.

Best Coaches in Bills football History

The Bills have had 20 head coaches in franchise history with a few standing out among the rest. The most successful coach early on was Lou Saban. He led the franchise to consecutive AFL championships, which made them the only team to accomplish that feat. Chuck Knox in the late 1970s to early 1980s experience also some success including earning Coach of the Year honor in 1980.

However, the most successful coach in team history by far was Marv Levy. He led the team to four straight Super Bowl appearances, which is still an NFL record.  Levy was a two-time Coach of the Year along with holding the franchise record for overall wins (112), playoff wins (11), and playoff appearances (eight). After Levy, it has been a carousel of coaches with neither lasting more than three seasons with the Bills’ current head coach being Sean McDermott. 

First Game in Bills Football History

The franchise’s first NFL game after the merger in 1970 was against the Denver Broncos where they fell short 25-10. The Broncos scored the game’s final 23 points after falling behind 10-2 with three field goals from Bobby Howfield and a pair of offensive touchdowns from quarterback Al Denson and running back Bobby Anderson.

Buffalo Bills Game History of Super Bowl

Although the Bills don’t possess a Super Bowl win, the team had a pair of championships in the AFL in 1964 and 1965. In each game, Buffalo charged past the San Diego Chargers. In 1964, the Bills responded to an early 7-0 deficit by scoring the game’s final 20 points. That included a pair of rushing touchdowns from quarterback Jack Kemp and half back Wray Carlton.

Buffalo entered the 1965 title game as heavy underdogs having suffered a 34-3 defeat against the Chargers in the regular season. It was the exact opposite in the championship game with the Bills shutting out their opponent 23-0.

This was a fair effort with Buffalo scoring both an offensive and defensive touchdown with Kemp. He was the regular-season MVP, throwing a touchdown pass to tight end Ernie Warlick, and defensive back Butch Byrd making 74-yard interception return.

Since the NFL merger, the Bills are the only team in league history to make four consecutive Super Bowl appearances. This came during Marv Levy’s era where they won four straight AFC title games. The games included beating three Hall of Fame quarterbacks in the process in John Elway, Dan Marino, and Joe Montana. 

Logo & Jersy

In the first two years of the team’s existence, the original colors were Honolulu blue, silver and white. The helmet was silver and featured no stripping or logos. They didn’t include a logo until 1962 where they adopted a standing red bison that was placed on a white helmet.

The team colors also changed to red, white, and blue. Over the years, the schemes and patterns of the uniform have altered. But the colors and logo have remained the same. The blue pants were not introduced until the 1975 season and the red socks came later in 1986.

Pro Football Hall of Fame:  Bills Football History

Aside from that, Buffalo has had the privilege to field many of the greatest players to play the game. The team has 11 representatives in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. This includes owner Ralph Wilson, head coach Marv Levy, and general manager Bill Polian.

This list of Hall of Famers includes several of the best to step on the field. Defensive end Bruce Smith is among them as he is the all-time leader in NFL history with 200 sacks. Quarterback Jim Kelly, who led the team to four consecutive Super Bowls that was one of the league’s best offenses. Running back O.J. Simpson, who was a five-time Pro Bowler, league MVP, and the first player to rush over 2,000 yards in a single season.

It also features running back Thurman Thomas.  He was a former NFL MVP, five-time Pro Bowler Thomas was also a huge part of the team’s four trips to the Super Bowl.  Wide Receivers Andre Reed and James Lofton were also fan favorites. they were a major part of their success in the early 1990s.  At the time of Reed’s retirement, he was second all-time in catches.

The list also includes a pair of offensive guards in Joe DeLamielleure and Billy Shaw, who were both among the best in the league during their time. Buffalo has also retired both Kelly and Smith’s uniform.

In total, the Bills have a rich history. The Buffalo Bills Game History has ingrained them as one of the most distinguished franchises in the NFL.

Find Similar like Buffalo Bills Football Game History